Wagin win UGSCA B-grade premiership after proving too strong for Dumbleyung in grand final

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldNarrogin Observer
The winning Wagin team.
Camera IconThe winning Wagin team. Credit: Sandra Moffatt

Wagin Cricket Club won their sixth B-grade premiership on the back of a wonderful century from Ben Ball in the grand final against Dumbleyung at Wagin.

The Upper Great Southern Cricket Association B-grade decider was played on Saturday, March 12, a week after the A-grade grand final.

Dumbleyung batted first and set Wagin 155 to win, but Ball blasted an unbeaten century to lead his side to premiership glory.

Wagin finished dominant eight wicket winners, claiming their first B-grade title since 2016-17 but fifth in the past 16 years.

The result was Wagin’s 10th premiership as a club in 47 years, having won four A-grade titles and now six B-grade flags.

Ball finished 114 not out in the successful run chase for Wagin, belting 15 fours and three sixes.

Player of the match Ben Ball with WACA umpires.
Camera IconPlayer of the match Ben Ball with WACA umpires. Credit: Sandra Moffatt

Brenden Hall added 21 and Dwight Kellow made 11 as Wagin passed the target in the 33rd over.

David Head finished with figures of 1-30 after dismissing Hall and Ryan Smith was the other wicket taker for Dumbleyung.

Earlier in the decider Mathew Teti did the damage for Wagin with the ball, snaring four wickets.

Teti claimed the first wicket of the game, dismissing Byron Blevin for 19 but a strong 80-run partnership from Brett Treloar and Ryan Taylor got their side into triple figures.

Peter Baker awarding Byron Blevin with the under-21 Cricketer of the Year Award.
Camera IconPeter Baker awarding Byron Blevin with the under-21 Cricketer of the Year Award. Credit: Sandra Moffatt

Treloar made a patient half century but fell to Ball on 50 from 73 balls and Taylor (38) joined him soon after as Dumbleyung fell to 3-120.

Teti ripped through the middle order and finished with 4-23 from eight overs to help restrict the visitors to 8-154 from their 40 overs.

Drew McAuliffe was also important with the ball snaring 2-33 from his spell while Ball bowled a tidy eight-over spell to return 1-25 and was named player of the final in the premiership triumph.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails