UGSCA 2023-24: Rohan Bilney collects man of the match, Henry Blechynden named B-grade Cricketer of the Year

Daniel RooneyNarrogin Observer
UGSCA B-grade grand final man of the match Rohan Bilney.
Camera IconUGSCA B-grade grand final man of the match Rohan Bilney. Credit: Supplied

Harrismith-Dudinin captain Rohan Bilney has won man-of-the-match honours after leading his team to a decisive victory over Boddington in the 2023-24 Upper Great Southern Cricket Association B-grade decider.

After the match in Harrismith on Saturday the B-grade awards presentations took place and grand final runners-up Boddington didn’t leave empty handed — they were named minor premiers on the back of a 10-win season.

Pingelly-Noonebin’s Henry Blechynden was awarded the top honour, the B-grade cricketer of the year.

Blechynden finished the season on 616 points after making 246 runs and averaging 30.75, taking 13 wickets and landing 10 catches.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The under-21 cricketer of the year award went to Harrismith’s Brock Pockran who capped off a terrific season on 517 points.

Pockran made 214 runs, took 13 wickets and three catches.

The batting aggregate award went to Harrismith’s Dane Angwin who made 312 runs from nine games.

Angwin posted three half-centuries and recorded his best performance against Wagin in round one when he retired on 78 runs.

Towns’ Ben March took out the batting average award with 47.67.

March made 286 runs in seven innings and landed two centuries against Cuballing.

The bowling aggregate award was split between Boddington’s Vijay Vijayaragavan and Wagin’s Darshika Samarakoon who both finished with 16 wickets.

Vijayaragavan’s best figures were 5-11 with an average of 10.06 and Samarakoon’s best return was 4-31 with an average of 13.31.

Towns’ Adrian Dabinett claimed the bowling average on 8.33 average.

Dabinett took 12 wickets across nine games, bowled 40.4 overs and finished with best figures of 4-21.

UGSCA A-grade players, Cuballing’s Grady Francis and Town’s Arron Quartermaine also attended the Harrismith presentations to accept awards they were unavailable to receive after last week’s A-grade grand final.

Francis took out the season’s bowling aggregate and average award, while Quartermaine received UGSCA cricketer of the year for country week and the A-grade batting aggregate and average awards.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails