Prestigious State award on Wagin doctor’s script

Michael TraillNarrogin Observer
Dr Peter Van Maarseveen.
Camera IconDr Peter Van Maarseveen. Credit: Rural Health West

Wagin’s solo general practitioner Dr Peter Van Maarseveen has earned the title of regional WA’s best doctor — named GP of the Year by Rural Health West last Saturday.

Dr Van Maarseveen was recognised at the annual WA Country Doctors’ Awards for his long career in general practice and his dedication to rural and remote communities.

Rural Health West chief executive Tim Shackleton said Dr Van Maarseveen was not only a stand-out because of his excellent clinical skills but also his jovial and friendly manner.

“As the solo GP at Wagin General Practice since 2012, Dr Van Maarseveen provides incredible support to the local community and his connection with his patients is invaluable,” Mr Shackleton said.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


“Dr Maarseveen is a champion for staff development and is a great believer in upskilling his practice nurse colleagues to provide greater service to the local community.

“Dr Maarseveen is also invested in the next generation of healthcare providers acting as a mentor for students from the University of WA and the University of Notre Dame, inspiring the doctors of tomorrow to play a vital role in their patients’ lives, just as he has.”

WA Country Health Service chief executive Jeff Moffet said Dr Van Maarseveen was a worthy winner, exemplifying just how vital GP services were to country life and communities.

“Dr Van Maarseveen provides incredible support to his local Wheatbelt community, often going above and beyond in his provision of care,” Mr Moffet said.

“It is important that we recognise doctors such as Dr Van Maarseveen, who demonstrate a remarkable commitment to rural communities ensuring they have access to high-quality medical care.”

Also at the awards, Dr Alan Kerrigan, John Parry Medical Centre, in Narrogin, was recognised for 30 years of service to rural medicine.

Doctors Wynand Breytenbach, of Narrogin Hospital, and Peter Lines, of Narembeen Medical Centre, were each recognised for 20 years of service.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails