Justin Joyce, Callum Garcia and Simon Panizza picked to represent WA Country Football League in State clash

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldNarrogin Observer
Callum Garcia, Justin Joyce and Simon Panizza.
Camera IconCallum Garcia, Justin Joyce and Simon Panizza. Credit: Canva

The WA Country Football League has named its final 23-man travelling team for the men’s State clash against South Australia at the Adelaide Oval on Saturday night.

The Upper Great Southern Football League will have strong representation, with three players named to pull on the Black Swans jumper.

Wickepin’s Callum Garcia, Kukerin-Dumbleyung’s Justin Joyce and Williams’ Simon Panizza will make the trip east with the WACFL while Travis Norton, who officiates in the UGSFL, will travel as an umpire for the State clash.

Ongerup Football Association trio Luke Bairstow, Lewis Davis and Fraser House have all earned selection in the side, after stellar performances in their side’s division two triumph at the Nutrien Ag Solutions Country Football Championships earlier this month.

Lake Grace-Pingrup veteran Bairstow won his third Bud Byfield Medal as the best and fairest player in division two of the championships and was named an Allstar alongside star Gnowangerup duo House and Davis.

Railways star Matt Palfrey will make his State debut for the WACFL and is the sole Great Southern Football League player in the team.

The WA Country outfit has former West Coast Eagles Adam Cockie and Tom Gorter and is stacked full of players with WAFL experience.

Coached by Kane Benson, the WACFL side will travel to South Australia where they will face the hosts before the AFL clash between Adelaide and Carlton at Adelaide Oval.

Ongerup players at the WACA on July 10, 2022.
Camera IconOngerup Football Association trio Luke Bairstow, Fraser House and Lewis Davis will play for WA Country. Credit: Matt Jelonek/The West Australian

Benson and his selectors used the country championships in Perth as a key tool in selecting their final team.

Division one champions, South West Football League, have five players in the team while Goldfields Football League are also well represented with four.

There hasn’t been a State clash between WA and SA since 2019, where WA were successful at Optus Stadium.

WACFL Men’s State Team

Daniel Acres (Kalannie/Central Wheatbelt FL), Luke Bairstow (Lake Grace-Pingrup/Ongerup FA), Adam Cockie (Moora/Central Midlands Coastal FL), Lewis Davis (Gnowangerup/Ongerup FA), Jordan Delbridge (Mines Rovers/Goldfields FL), Braden Fimmano (Harvey Bulls/South West FL), Kaidyn Fullgrabe (Cunderdin/Avon FA), Callum Garcia (Wickepin/Upper Great Southern FL), Tom Gorter (South Bunbury/South West FL), Fraser House (Gnowangerup/Ongerup FA), Justin Joyce (Kukerin-Dumbleyung/Upper Great Southern FL), Guy Langdon (Dampier Sharks/North Pilbara FL), Sam Lewis (Augusta-Margaret River/South West FL), Jake Nuich (Boulder City/Goldfields FL), Matt Palfrey (Railways/Great Southern FL), Simon Panizza (Williams/Upper Great Southern FL), Matthew Rogers (Cunderdin/Avon FA), Kim Schofield (Brigades/Great Northern FL), Kingsley Smith (Northampton/Great Northern FL), Cameron Symonds (Kalgoorlie/Goldfields FL), Bailey Taylor (Carey Park/South West FL), Zac Trigwell (Donnybrook/South West FL), Gerald Ugle (Mines Rovers/Goldfields FL)

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails