Eagles finish on top after win in final round of upper school competition in UGSHA

Narrogin Observer
The J11 award winners.
Camera IconThe J11 award winners. Credit: Rodney Johnson

Eagles grabbed top spot in the upper school competition as the Upper Great Southern Hockey Association’s regular season came to an end last Thursday.

The round 15 top-of-the-table clash between Eagles and Vultures decided who finished on top.

Stephan Conlan, Kynan Spencer and Lucy Kilpatrick guided Eagles to a 1-0 victory to secure the minor premiership.

Ag Rangers and Collegians drew 2-2 in their clash, with Ag Rangers’ better players being Tom Kilpatrick, Stockton Shotter and Libby Hardingham, while Austin Shotter, Colby Wisewould and Ethan Sandwell served Collegians best.

Bottom two sides Toucans and Woodanilling also could not be separated, ending their game 4-4.

Woodanilling sealed top spot in the middle school competition after winning the top-of-the-table clash with Tigers 3-2, with the winners best served byJames Shackley, Zoe Keley and Jonty Bolto.

Cougars and Pumas drew nil-all in their clash.

Dingoes finished minor premiers in the J11 competition as they downed Devils 4-2, set up by Luca Collette, Bryce Edgeley and Zoe George.

Stingrays cemented a spot in the top four with a 3-1 win over Lakers with better players being Oliver Batt, Kate Bennier and Dylan Mulcahy in the win.

Williams finished in second place as they ended the regular season with a convincing 5-0 win over Woodanilling.

The winners’ best players were Cooper Fiord, Archie MacNamara and Dylan Chadwick.

At the conclusion of the J11 games there was a wind-up held and team sportspersons winners were announced.

In the boys competition, Darcy Kokich (Bulldogs), Tyler Rushton (Brookton), Zavier Paice (Devils), Luca Collette (Dingoes), Flynn Bartram (Lakers), Dylan Mulcahy (Stingrays), Archie MacNamara (Williams) and John Murray (Woodanilling) were the recipients.

Winter Alexander (Bulldogs), Charlotte Ferguson (Brookton), Mateya Browne (Devils), Akexis Edgeley (Dingoes), Jasmine Cronin (Lakers), Pippa Van der Riet (Stingrays), Charlise Medlen (Williams) and Tiffany Flood (Woodanilling) were the girls recipients.

The overall best team sportspersons were Jasmine Cronin and Dylan Mulcahy.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails