Close grand final contests in the Upper Great Southern Hockey Association minor grades

Narrogin Observer
Dumbleyung men’s B-grade premiers.
Camera IconDumbleyung men’s B-grade premiers. Credit: Tom Shanahan

Dumbleyung secured the Upper Great Southern Hockey Association’s men’s B-grade premiership in epic fashion over Woodanilling on Saturday.

With scores level at the end of full-time, the grand final went into 15 minutes of sudden death golden goal where both teams had their chances to win but the final siren sounded to end extra time.

The decider went to the best of five ones-on-ones and Dumbleyung prevailed narrowly 3-2, making amends for last year’s grand final defeat.

Dumbleyung had an early two-goal lead but Woodanilling pegged them both back with the score 2-2 when the game went to golden goal.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Dumbleyung’s Blake Watkins was named most valuable player in the win.

Women’s B-grade winners Warriors.
Camera IconWomen’s B-grade winners Warriors. Credit: Tom Shanahan

Warriors went the long way to premiership success in the women’s B-grade competition, turning around their second semifinal loss to Wickepin in the game that mattered most.

Neither team scored in regular time despite both having strong opportunities and the grand final went to sudden death golden goal.

Golden goal didn’t last long as Warriors in their first attacking movement got a deflection goal from Jo Hayes’ stick to seal the premiership win, 1-0.

Wickepin’s Renae Bransby was MVP in the decider.

Eagles took out the upper school premiership.
Camera IconEagles took out the upper school premiership. Credit: Rodney Johnson

Eagles claimed the upper school premiership in convincing fashion over Vultures to cap a superb season on Thursday.

After finishing on top of the ladder and winning their second semifinal against Vultures, Eagles were again too strong in the decider prevailing 4-1.

Eagles scored an early penalty corner goal from Stephen Conlan before an even second term.

Three goals were scored in the third stanza all in favour of Eagles, the first a great field goal from Kynan Spencer before another terrific field goal from Fletcher West and then Colleen Edwards put their side up by four goals going into the last term.

Grace Van der Velde found the back of the net in the final term for Vultures but Eagles held firm with Spencer named MVP.

Woodanilling won the middle school premiership.
Camera IconWoodanilling won the middle school premiership. Credit: Rodney Johnson

Woodanilling finished their season with a well-deserved premiership in the middle school competition after defeating Tigers 2-1 in the grand finalon Thursday night.

A penalty corner conversion from James Shackley got Woodanilling away to a perfect start.

The ball spent plenty of time in the midfield in the second term and the third quarter was very similar but with only six minutes left in the game Tamzin Pederick levelled the score.

However, Woodanilling replied with 90 seconds on the clock after a great field goal from Eden Bairstow.

Tigers went back into attack but the final siren sounded to hand Woodanilling a tense victory

Shackley was named MVP.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails