Big names move on

Michael TraillNarrogin Observer
Jye Depane in last year’s grand final.
Camera IconJye Depane in last year’s grand final. Credit: Michael Traill

Wanderers’ Kade Stewart, Williams’ Nathan Bravington and Boddington’s Jye Depane are the biggest names to depart the Upper Great Southern Football League in 2019.

Stewart, the 2018 Leo Graham medallist, and Boddington’s reining premiership player/assistant coach Depane will both return to South Fremantle in the WAFL for 2019.

Stewart last played for the Bulldogs in 2015 before being recruited by Hawthorn in 2016, while Depane looks to make his league debut at Fremantle Oval after 29 matches in the colts for the red and white.

Joint 2017 Leo Graham medallist Bravington will join his former cross-town rivals East Perth, having played both colts and reserves for West Perth in 2012.

Last year’s grand finalists Boddington and Katanning both lost depth from their lists in the off-season.

Stewart’s brother Tim and captain Tim Fitzgerald will both depart the Wanderers for Victoria, while Sam Rundle heads to the Goldfields.

Williams will gain Russell and Khalvin Cowcher at the expense of Boddington.

Boddington’s 2019 premiership defence has taken a further hit, with Adam Waight and Ben Larkins making moving to the newly rebranded Perth Football League and Mininera District Football respectively.

Zaine Cuthbert and Liam Baron have also departed Williams in the off-season.

Rounding out last year’s top four sides, Narrogin, too, have suffered loss in their squad.

The 2017 joint Leo Graham medallist, Cameron Allison, moved to the Great Southern Football league in the second half of last season.

The 2018 Hawks captain and Hardie Family medallist, Jordan Heil, will join Allison in Albany’s competition in 2019.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails