Student wins coveted gong

Michael TraillNarrogin Observer
The 2018 finalist.
Camera IconThe 2018 finalist. Credit: Michael Traill

Braeside Primary School’s Harry Forman won the 2018 Vi Barham Award for Excellence during the award’s ceremony at Narrogin Senior High School’s Hilltop cafe last Thursday.

Joanna Tester, Teresa Wigg, Harry and Lisa Forman and Lauren Suttie.
Camera IconJoanna Tester, Teresa Wigg, Harry and Lisa Forman and Lauren Suttie.

Primary students are nominated for the award by their schools in a region spanning from Broomehill to Hyden and Lake King.

After being nominated, students sat the ACER Higher Ability Selection Test in August.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


From there, 10 finalist were selected for an interview with the Vi Barham Board of Trustees,although with such a high quality of nominations, 11 finalists were chosen this year.

Each finalist is given a $100 award, while the winner takes home the $2500 prize.

The award for excellence is named after the Upper Great Southern’s “Mother of Education”, Vi Barham.

Mrs Barham dedicated 23 years of her life to education in the region, serving as the school regional office sectary from 1963.

Full list of finalists

Harry Forman, Sean Tester: Braeside PS

Kele Readhead, Nicholas Treloar: Boddington DHS

Rohan Bignell: Broomehill PS

Lilli Beresford and Abby Dewing: Narrogin PS

Jed Kowald: St Patrick’s PS

Jack Holt: Wagin DHS

Hayley Doncon: Wickepin PS

David Kelliher: Williams PS

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails