Narrogin veterans turn back the clock

Laura GrubisaNarrogin Observer

Towns Cricket Club had extra reason to celebrate last weekend as players past and present came together to recognise the 10-year anniversary of the club’s 2007-08 A-grade premiership win.

In the 2008 grand final, Towns defeated Cuballing by eight wickets after the visiting side were dismissed for 112 after electing to bat first.

Towns easily chased down this total with Perrin Quartermaine and Aaron McAuliffe sharing a 70-run partnership off 12 overs.

The Narrogin side took victory with 20 overs remaining.

With several players from the winning 2007-08 team still in the current side, they gave returning players something to cheer about as they defeated Wandering by 13 runs last Saturday.

Wandering were undefeated before losing to Towns.

The Narrogin side were bolstered by a 101-run effort from Quartermaine, with McAuliffe next-best with 31 in a performance that must have seemed like deja vu for returning players watching from the club rooms.

Towns finished on 7-198 and Wandering seemed to struggle initially when sent in to bat.

Their leading pair of Lewis Parsons and Lincoln Joy were dismissed for 5 and 12 runs respectively, and Bryan Hardie was their best batsman with 53.

The visitors finished on 9-185, giving Towns their second consecutive A-grade win and handing Wandering their first loss of the season.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails