Long-time volunteers receive service medals

Daryna ZadvirnaNarrogin Observer
Narrogin Firebrigade members.
Camera IconNarrogin Firebrigade members.

Members of the Narrogin Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service were recognised for their work at a 95th anniversary awards evening on Saturday.

About 70 people, including current and former members, attended the presentation held at Narrogin’s senior citizens’ centre.

Organiser and Narrogin VFRS secretary Grant Froome said he was delighted with the turnout.

“It was great to see old members come back into town for the event. It was a reunion of many friendships.” he said.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Among guests were Department of Fire and Emergency Services deputy commissioner Malcolm Cronstedt, a former Narrogin brigade member, and Narrogin Shire president Leigh Ballard, a current member.

Malcolm Cronstedt, Hastings Adams with his award, and Laurie Graham.
Camera IconMalcolm Cronstedt, Hastings Adams with his award, and Laurie Graham.

Representative for the Emergency Services Minister Fran Logan and Agricultural Region MLC Laurie Graham presented Hastings Adams with a 60 Years of Service award, the highest recognition of the night.

David Hayes was awarded for 45 years of service with a National Medal clasp, and 30 Years of Service clasps went to Greg Burton and Grant Froome.

Grant Hansen was recognised for 20 years of service with a clasp, and Anika Keezing received a medal for her 10 years.

Alana Reeves and William Davey received a service badge for their 5 years as members.

Award winners from the evening.
Camera IconAward winners from the evening.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails