Bones Kunst and Shane Kerr from Denmark Country Club claim 2022 Denmark Summer Golf Classic

Taj StubberAlbany Advertiser
Denmark Classic winners Shane Kerr and Bones Kunst with Paul Fyfe.
Camera IconDenmark Classic winners Shane Kerr and Bones Kunst with Paul Fyfe. Credit: Nigel Dudley

Local golfers dominated on their home course at the Denmark Summer Golf Classic hosted by the Denmark Country Club last weekend.

Players from across the State descended on the Denmark fairways from as far north as Exmouth, to Hopetoun in the east, and Busselton in the west, all vying to win one of the most prestigious golfing events in the region.

A total of 54 golf clubs and organisations were represented at the two-day event by 240 players. Amid beautiful weather, 90 volunteers ensured a memorable experience for all who participated.

The Denmark pairing of Bones Kunst and Shane Kerr were deserving winners of the two-day 36-hole four-ball, better-ball Stableford competition on their home course.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Kunst and Kerr won the trophy with 97 points to defeat Busselton rivals Adam Davey and Grant Scollay on 86 points, while Denmark’s Mike Camping and Riverview’s Dennis Davis filled third on 84.

Boyup Brook’s Naomi and Rance Dorrington were the first mixed team while Denmark duo Ray Thompson and Davis Milne were the best men’s team.

Two-ball Ambrose winners Sky Pusmucans and Michael Silver.
Camera IconTwo-ball Ambrose winners Sky Pusmucans and Michael Silver. Credit: Nigel Dudley

Denmark’s Doreen Hughes and Westavait’s Marion Hutch were the best women’s side on countback.

Westaviat’s Gary Hutch and Gary Cooper were the best visiting men’s team, while Manjimup golfers Caterina Bending and Judy Dimitriou were the best visiting women’s team.

Best visiting mixed team were Rockingham’s Julie and Garry Twight.

In the lead-up to the major competition, Friday’s two-ball Ambrose event was taken by Denmark’s Michael Silver and Royal Fremantle’s Sky Pusmucans on 63.5 points ahead of Manjimup’s Jon Cowan and Lee Tyson.

Busselton duo Grant Scollay and Adam Davey filled third in the event that attracted a field of 200 players.

Marion Nelson, the chair of the Classic organising committee, acknowledged the hard work of the committee, the volunteers, and the continuing support of the classic sponsors.

The Denmark Summer Golf Classic will be celebrating its 10th anniversary in 2023.

Organisers have plans to make the event bigger and better.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails