Quorum falls short as Sports Star Awards annual general meeting deferred

Neale HarveyKalgoorlie Miner
Tess Rowling won the 2023 Hahn Electrical Goldfields sports star of the year award.
Camera IconTess Rowling won the 2023 Hahn Electrical Goldfields sports star of the year award. Credit: Carwyn Monck/Kalgoorlie Miner

The annual general meeting of the Goldfields Sports Star of the Year Awards committee has been deferred after it failed to attract a quorum on Wednesday night.

Nominations for all committee positions are being sought as the committee works towards this year introducing a new constitution.

Also earmarked are changes of format and venue for the 2024 event.

The annual awards night recognises six categories — sports star of the year, rising star, service to sport, masters sport star, team of the year, and person with a disability.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Incorporating the latest Goldfields Sporting Hall of Fame inductees, the gala evening has been a popular event on the calendar since 2002.

It was cancelled in 2020 because of COVID but was reinvigorated three years ago under a new-look sports star committee headed by Tony Crook.

The concept of a Sporting Hall of Fame being established in Kalgoorlie-Boulder was floated for years before finally gathering momentum in 2004 with the formation of a special committee.

Medal winners: 1979 GNFL president Doug Krepp with league best and fairest Colin Mcintyre, reservres best and fairest Kim Loxton and Colts best and fairest Brett Lee.
Camera Icon1979 GNFL president Doug Krepp with league fairest-and-best Colin Mcintyre, reserves fairest-and-best Kim Loxton, and colts fairest-and-best Brett Lee. Credit: Supplied/Supplied

Former Goldfields Football League chairman, the late Doug Krepp, floated the idea in 1998 amid concerns the region’s rich sporting history was gradually disappearing.

Krepp proposed the idea of a sporting museum being established in the region during the mid-1990s and decided to pursue the hall of fame project after attending the Kalgoorlie City Football Club’s 1998 centenary celebrations.

His preferred venue at that time was Boulder Town Hall, but Kalgoorlie Town Hall became the official site ahead of the inaugural 2005 class.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails